Skip to main content

Result releasedAnnolyse analysis published

Hedge gains inflate NPAT growth to 351.6% versus 14% underlying rise

Reported profit surged on non-cash hedge gains while EBITDAF rose just 16% and dividends outpaced free cash flow.

MEL revenue trajectory

Revenue context before the current result.

Loading chart...
HY24 was $2.1b, versus $1.5b in HY23.

MEL EBITDAF margin

EBITDAF margin across covered periods.

Loading chart...
  • HY23 MEL HY: Outside range high ebitda margin. 27.8%; 3-period range 11.4% to 25.2%. EBITDA margin: 27.8%, above normal range; 3-period mean 19.2%, range 11.4%-25.2%.
EBITDA margin: 27.8%, above normal range; 3-period mean 19.2%, range 11.4%-25.2%.

MEL operating cash flow

Operating cash flow across covered periods.

Loading chart...
HY24 was $303m, versus $265m in HY23.

MEL NPAT trajectory

Statutory profit after tax across covered periods.

Loading chart...
HY24 was $191m, versus $201m in HY23.

Market context

Valuation

These ratios pair a market close from around the result date with verified filing data. An unavailable metric means the required inputs were missing or unsuitable for comparison.

Prices as at close, 2 September 2026

Price and market cap

The latest close and share count context for the market price.

Market cap

$14.6b

i

End-of-day close multiplied by current shares on issue.

Profitability multiples

How the market price compares with recent earnings and cash-flow inputs.

P/E

112.46x

i

Recent market cap compared with trailing earnings.

EPS

0.05

i

Recent filing-derived earnings per share.

PEG

Not available

i

Not available for this company right now.

EV/EBITDA

15.27x

i

Enterprise value compared with recent EBITDA.

P/FCF

20.28x

i

Market cap compared with recent free cash flow.

P/B

1.47x

i

Market value compared with latest reported equity.

Income and investment-company measures

Yield and investment-company valuation where supported.

Dividend yield

3.8%

i

Trailing dividends compared with the latest close.

Total return

Not available

i

Available once dividend and adjustment data are verified.

Release date
28 August 2024
Published
22 April 2026

Key metrics

Numbers worth scanning first

FY24 vs FY23

Revenue

$4.9b

Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.

EBITDA

Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.

Net profit after tax

$429m

Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.

Net cash inflow from operating activities

$667m

Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.

Full-year dividend per share

21.0c

Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.

Profit before tax

$594m

Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.

Total assets

$13.5b

Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.

Analysis ofMEL FY24Result releasedAnnolyse analysis published

What changed

Meridian's headline profit before tax rose 371.4% to $594.0m and net profit after tax rose 351.6% to $429.0m, but the company's own disclosures attribute this growth "significantly" to net gains on hedge instruments rather than operating performance

The cleaner operating gauges moved far more modestly: issuer-labelled EBITDAF rose 16% to $905.0m and underlying net profit rose 14% to $359.0m, both a fraction of the headline growth rates. This matters because an investor reading only the reported PBT/NPAT lines would materially overstate the year's operating improvement.

Revenue grew 50.7% to $4.9b, largely a pass-through of higher wholesale and retail pricing rather than volume-driven margin expansion, since segment-level current-period detail was not disclosed. Trade debtors rose 60.5% to $536.0m against prior-year $334.0m, a working-capital build that receivable days (40.3 versus 37.8) only partly explains.

What matters

Hedge-driven earnings distortion

The gap between 371.4% PBT growth and 16% EBITDAF growth is the single largest read-through issue this year: it means the profit and loss statement is dominated by fair-value hedge movements that do not represent cash economics. For anyone assessing the business, EBITDAF and underlying net profit, not headline PBT/NPAT, are the more reliable operating signals.

Dividend coverage lags cash generation. The current payout ratio against NPAT is 126.5% (down from 483.8% prior, reflecting the smaller NPAT base last year), but the more telling figure is the 137.1% payout ratio against free cash flow pre-lease, meaning the dividend was not covered by free cash flow this year. This matters because sustained dividend growth built on non-cash-inflated earnings, rather than free cash flow, raises questions about future funding of both dividends and the $349.0m capital programme.

Leverage and balance-sheet scale. Net debt to EBITDA improved marginally to 1.2x from 1.3x, and gross borrowings rose only 9.0% to $1.3b against a 35.1% increase in total assets, so leverage is not obviously stretched. However, total assets and equity both grew over 35%, consistent with asset revaluation effects that can also flow through the hedge-driven PBT line, reinforcing the need to separate accounting gains from cash generation.

Expectations

No stated targets or full-year guidance were disclosed in this release, so the result cannot be benchmarked against a company-issued target; assessment rests on comparing headline to underlying measures

The half-year Meridian result showed EBITDAF up only 4% and NPAT of $191.0m, while full-year underlying net profit rose 14% to $359.0m, indicating the underlying business grew steadily through the year even as reported PBT and NPAT growth rates were amplified by hedge accounting in the second half.

This gap matters because a reader relying on the 371.4% PBT growth figure alone would expect a step-change in the underlying business that the EBITDAF and underlying-profit measures do not support.

Quality of result

Operating cash flow rose 31.0% to $667.0m and cash conversion against EBITDAF improved to 73.7% from 65.0%, which on its own reads as a durable cash-generation improvement rather than a working-capital-assisted one

However, the quality of the reported earnings growth is weaker: PBT and NPAT growth are inflated by non-cash hedge gains that will reverse or vary with future market pricing, so the 371.4% and 351.6% headline growth rates should not be read as a repeatable earnings trajectory.

  • Capex rose 10.4% to $349.0m against 7.2% of revenue, a moderate step-up in capital intensity
  • Dividend payout of 137.1% against free cash flow pre-lease signals reliance on balance-sheet capacity rather than current-year cash generation to fund distributions

Unresolved

Open questions

What portion of the $594.0m profit before tax is attributable specifically to unrealised hedge fair-value movements that could reverse in FY25?
Why did trade debtors rise 60.5% to $536.0m, and is this collection-timing or a genuine change in customer credit terms?
How does management expect to fund a dividend that exceeded free cash flow pre-lease by 37.1% if hedge gains do not recur next year?
Will EBITDAF and underlying net profit growth, both far below headline PBT/NPAT growth, be the primary internal targets communicated to the market going forward?

This briefing cannot assess segment-level margin or volume drivers for FY24, since current-period segment revenue and result figures were not disclosed in the supplied data.

Ask about MEL FY24

Informational only. No buy, sell, hold, price-target, or personal financial advice.

Sign in to chat

Sign in to ask questions about Meridian Energy's FY24 result.

What portion of the $594.0m profit before tax is attributable specifically to unrealised hedge fair-value movements that could reverse in FY25?Why does "Hedge-driven earnings distortion" matter?How strong was the cash and earnings quality in FY24?What should I watch next for MEL after FY24?

Checking account...

Data appendix

Show segment detail

Open to load segment breakdown.

Show analytical metrics

Open to load analytical metrics.

Show key metrics table

Open to load key metrics.

Sources

Current period

Integrated Report for the year ended 30 June 2024 (including audited financial statements)

FY24 / financial report

Investor Presentation

FY24 / results presentation

Media Announcement

FY24 / results release

NZX Results Announcement

FY24 / results announcement

Prior comparable period

Integrated Report for the year ended 30 June 2023 (including audited financial statements)

FY23 / financial report

Investor Presentation

FY23 / results presentation

Media Announcement

FY23 / results release

NZX Results Announcement

FY23 / results announcement

Interim context

Condensed Interim Financial Statements for the six months ended 31 December 2023

HY24 / financial report

Investor Presentation

HY24 / results presentation

Media Announcement

HY24 / results release

NZX Results Announcement

HY24 / results announcement

Release context

Meridian Investor Day Presentation

FY24 / commentary

Get notified when MEL publishes next

Get the next Meridian Energy briefing and related NZX reporting-season updates by email.