Skip to main content

Result releasedAnnolyse analysis published

ROE fell to 9.3%, below range, as assets grew 20% on falling NPAT

Gross borrowings rose 42% to $35.5m to fund expansion while PBT fell 14.3% and container and log volumes contracted sharply.

SPN revenue trajectory

Revenue context before the current result.

Loading chart...
FY22 was $48.6m, versus $47.3m in FY21.

SPN EBITDA margin

EBITDA margin across covered periods.

Loading chart...
FY22 was 34.5%, versus 31% in FY21.

SPN operating cash flow

Operating cash flow across covered periods.

Loading chart...
FY22 was $13.7m, versus $15.8m in FY21.

SPN NPAT trajectory

Statutory profit after tax across covered periods.

Loading chart...
FY22 was $12.8m, versus $10.7m in FY21.

Market context

Valuation

These ratios pair a market close from around the result date with verified filing data. An unavailable metric means the required inputs were missing or unsuitable for comparison.

Prices as at close, 2 September 2026

Price and market cap

The latest close and share count context for the market price.

Market cap

$234m

i

End-of-day close multiplied by current shares on issue.

Profitability multiples

How the market price compares with recent earnings and cash-flow inputs.

P/E

14.54x

i

Recent market cap compared with trailing earnings.

EPS

0.61

i

Recent filing-derived earnings per share.

PEG

0.69x

i

P/E compared with recent earnings growth.

EV/EBITDA

8.45x

i

Enterprise value compared with recent EBITDA.

P/FCF

12.71x

i

Market cap compared with recent free cash flow.

P/B

3.11x

i

Market value compared with latest reported equity.

Income and investment-company measures

Yield and investment-company valuation where supported.

Dividend yield

3.3%

i

Trailing dividends compared with the latest close.

Total return

Not available

i

Available once dividend and adjustment data are verified.

Release date
9 February 2023
Published
23 April 2026

Key metrics

Numbers worth scanning first

HY23 vs HY22

Revenue

$24.9m

+6.8% ↑ vs $23.3m

Net profit after tax

$5.2m

-11.9% ↓ vs $5.9m

Net cash inflow from operating activities

$5.4m

+8.6% ↑ vs $5m

Interim dividend per share

7.5c

flat vs 7.5c

Profit before tax

$7.2m

-14.3% ↓ vs $8.4m

Cash and cash equivalents

$2.1m

+11.0% ↑ vs $1.9m

Total assets

$98m

+20.0% ↑ vs $81.7m

Analysis ofSPN HY23Result releasedAnnolyse analysis published

What changed

ROE fell to 9.3% from 11.7%, sitting below Annolyse's historical baseline range of 9.5%–12.1% (3-period mean 11.2%)

The driver is straightforward: the asset base expanded 20% to $98.0m while NPAT contracted 11.9% to $5.2m. The earnings denominator shrank as the capital deployed in the business grew.

Revenue rose 6.8% to $24.9m but did not translate to the bottom line. PBT fell 14.3% to $7.2m, and NPAT fell 11.9% to $5.2m. Container volumes were down 18.5% to 44,000 TEU and log and timber volumes down 13.9% to 667,000 tonnes, partially offset by stronger bulk handling.

Operating cash flow rose 8.6% to $5.4m, gross borrowings climbed 42% to $35.5m, and the interim dividend was held flat at 7.5 cps.

What matters

ROE compression is the cleanest read on this result

At 9.3%, return on equity is below the supplied historical range for the first time in the visible window, with the mean comparison −1.9 points versus the 11.2% baseline. Equity grew 10% to $55.3m while earnings shrank, so each dollar of shareholder capital is currently producing meaningfully less profit. This matters because the gap reflects capital being deployed faster than it is earning a return, not a one-off accounting effect.

Revenue and earnings moved in opposite directions. Revenue grew 6.8% but PBT fell 14.3%, a roughly 21-point gap between top-line and pre-tax growth. The tax rate at 28.6% (versus 29.8% prior) is within the historical range and is not the distortion — PBT growth of −14.3% is itself negative. The implication is operating margin and finance-cost pressure, with finance costs likely rising as gross borrowings stepped up.

Cash held up despite the earnings decline. OCF of $5.4m was up 8.6%, so the earnings decline does not appear to be a working-capital or collection problem. This narrows the read: the issue is cost recovery on lower-margin volume mix and a heavier capital base, not deteriorating cash quality.

Expectations

No forward guidance or stated targets were provided

The supplied second-half shape context is useful: in FY22 the first half delivered 48.1% of full-year revenue and 45.7% of full-year NPAT, implying a second-half-weighted pattern. Annualising current revenue gives ~$49.9m, broadly consistent with FY22's $48.6m, but if the HY22 NPAT share repeats, full-year NPAT would scale from a weaker first-half base of $5.2m.

The release also notes one-off items at the FY22 anchor — an interest-rate adjustment and other normalising items — which complicates the FY22 NPAT comparison. This matters because the visible run-rate does not yet show the second-half catch-up the seasonality pattern would require.

Quality of result

The earnings result is lower quality than the cash result

PBT fell 14.3% on revenue that grew 6.8%, which points to operating-margin compression rather than timing. Container volumes (−18.5%) and log/timber (−13.9%) are real volume losses, and the revenue line held only because bulk and pricing offset them. The mix shift is unfavourable to margin even where revenue is steady.

Set against that, OCF of $5.4m beat both the prior comparable and the reported NPAT, so cash conversion is intact. The balance-sheet expansion is the swing factor: gross borrowings rose 42% to $35.5m, net debt rose to $33.4m from $23.1m, and total assets grew 20%. Capex is not separately disclosed in the supplied data, but the asset and debt movements imply a substantial investment cycle. Until that capital starts earning, ROE will stay compressed. The flat 7.5 cps interim dividend at a 38.3% NPAT payout ratio is within the historical range (mean 39.7%) and looks comfortably covered by current cash, but the cover narrows if earnings continue to lag the asset base.

Unresolved

Open questions

What is driving the 42% step-up in gross borrowings, and how much of the 20% asset growth is committed capex versus completed assets already in service?
When does management expect the expanded asset base to begin generating incremental earnings sufficient to restore ROE into the historical 9.5%–12.1% range?
How much of the 6.8% revenue growth came from price versus volume mix, given containers fell 18.5% and logs fell 13.9%?
What is the outlook for container and log volumes into the second half, and is there a recovery assumed in the FY23 shape?
Why did finance and other below-the-line costs widen the gap between 6.8% revenue growth and −14.3% PBT growth?

This briefing cannot assess the return profile of the new capital projects because capex detail, project economics, and forward earnings contribution are not disclosed in the supplied material.

Ask about SPN HY23

Informational only. No buy, sell, hold, price-target, or personal financial advice.

Sign in to chat

Sign in to ask questions about South Port New Zealand's HY23 result.

What is driving the 42% step-up in gross borrowings, and how much of the 20% asset growth is committed capex versus completed assets already in service?Why does "ROE compression is the cleanest read on this result" matter?How strong was the cash and earnings quality in HY23?What should I watch next for SPN after HY23?

Checking account...

Data appendix

Show analytical metrics

Open to load analytical metrics.

Show key metrics table

Open to load key metrics.

Sources

Current period

Financial Statements Six Month Period ended 31 December 2022

HY23 / financial report

Results Announcement – 31 Dec 2022

HY23 / results announcement

South Port NZ Ltd – Media Release

HY23 / media release

Prior comparable period

Financial Statements Six Month Period ended 31 December 2021

HY22 / financial report

Results Announcement - 31 Dec 2021

HY22 / results announcement

South Port NZ Ltd - Media Release

HY22 / media release

Full-year context

Results Announcement - 30 June 2022

FY22 / results announcement

Results Announcement - 30 June 2022

FY22 / results release

SPNZ FY22 Financials

FY22 / financial report

Release context

2022 Annual Meeting - Chair's Address

HY23 / commentary

South Port NZ Ltd - Annual Meeting 2022 - Media Release

HY23 / commentary

SPNZ NZ Ltd - 2022 Annual Meeting Results Announcement

HY23 / commentary

Get notified when SPN publishes next

Get the next South Port New Zealand briefing and related NZX reporting-season updates by email.