Skip to main content

Result releasedAnnolyse analysis published

Medical services-led NPAT growth of 27.5% on 4.2% revenue lift

The earnings step-up was concentrated in the smaller Medical services segment while operating cash flow grew only 3.7% and free cash flow fell.

GXH revenue trajectory

Revenue context before the current result.

Loading chart...
HY26 was $264.4m, versus $259.9m in HY25.

GXH Operating profit margin

Operating profit margin across covered periods.

Loading chart...
HY26 was 6.6%, versus 6.2% in HY25.

GXH operating cash flow

Operating cash flow across covered periods.

Loading chart...
HY26 was $21.6m, versus $25.3m in HY25.

GXH working-capital movement

Operating working-capital absorption or release by reporting period.

Loading chart...
  • HY24 GXH: Outside range low operating working-capital movement. $-11.8m; 3-period range $-3.7m to $8.7m. Operating working-capital movement: NZ$-11.8m, below normal range; 2/3 prior periods had builds averaging NZ$5.6m, and 1 had releases averaging NZ$-3.7m.
  • HY26 GXH: Outside range high operating working-capital movement. $8.7m; 3-period range $-11.8m to $2.5m. Operating working-capital movement: NZ$8.7m, above normal range; 1/3 prior periods had builds averaging NZ$2.5m, and 2 had releases averaging NZ$-7.7m.
Operating working-capital movement: NZ$8.7m, above normal range; 1/3 prior periods had builds averaging NZ$2.5m, and 2 had releases averaging NZ$-7.7m.

Market context

Valuation

These ratios pair a market close from around the result date with verified filing data. An unavailable metric means the required inputs were missing or unsuitable for comparison.

Prices as at close, 28 August 2026

Price and market cap

The latest close and share count context for the market price.

Market cap

$278.3m

i

End-of-day close multiplied by current shares on issue.

Profitability multiples

How the market price compares with recent earnings and cash-flow inputs.

P/E

13.65x

i

Recent market cap compared with trailing earnings.

EPS

0.14

i

Recent filing-derived earnings per share.

PEG

0.49x

i

P/E compared with recent earnings growth.

EV/EBITDA

5.96x

i

Enterprise value compared with recent EBITDA.

P/FCF

Not available

i

Not available for this company right now.

P/B

1.58x

i

Market value compared with latest reported equity.

Income and investment-company measures

Yield and investment-company valuation where supported.

Dividend yield

4.4%

i

Trailing dividends compared with the latest close.

Total return

Not available

i

Available once dividend and adjustment data are verified.

Release date
29 May 2026
Published
29 May 2026

Key metrics

Numbers worth scanning first

FY26 vs FY25

Revenue

$546m

Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.

Net profit after tax

$20.4m

Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.

Net cash inflow from operating activities

$54.6m

Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.

Full-year dividend per share

5.8c

Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.

Operating profit

$45.3m

Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.

Profit before tax

$35.8m

Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.

Total assets

$392m

Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.

Analysis ofGXH FY26Result releasedAnnolyse analysis published

What changed

NPAT rose 27.5% to $20.4m on revenue growth of 4.2% to $546.0m, and profit before tax rose 24.3% to $35.8m — but the lift was concentrated in the smaller Medical services segment rather than the larger Pharmacy services business, which means FY26 earnings durability depends materially on a repeat from the smaller half of the group

Medical services revenue grew 8.1% to $165.8m and its segment result jumped to $26.0m from $19.5m. Pharmacy services — still 69.6% of revenue — grew revenue only 2.7% to $380.2m and its segment result moved modestly to $22.2m from $21.5m.

Green Cross Health Full Year Results to 31 March 2026 show operating cash flow rose 3.7% to $54.6m, well behind NPAT growth. Capex stepped up 65.5% to $9.6m, taking free cash flow before leases to $45.0m from $46.8m. The group moved to a net cash position of about $8.6m, and a 5.5 cent final dividend was declared.

What matters

Medical services did almost all of the heavy lifting

That segment contributed roughly $6.5m of the $7.3m increase in combined segment results, so the 27.5% NPAT headline is essentially a Medical services story rather than a broad-based lift. Pharmacy services result growth of around 3.5% on a business that contributes the majority of revenue is the more relevant base-rate read. This matters because the release does not disclose what drove the Medical services step-up, and FY27 depends on whether it repeats.

Cash conversion deteriorated. Operating cash flow grew 3.7% against PBT growth of 24.3% and NPAT growth of 27.5%, and free cash flow before leases actually fell as capex rose 65.5% to 1.8% of revenue (1.1% prior). This matters because reported earnings outran cash generation, so the quality of the headline percentages is weaker than they appear on first read.

Leverage strengthened. Cash rose to $28.4m and gross borrowings fell to about $19.8m, taking the group to a net cash position. That creates capacity for further investment or distributions but does not, on its own, validate the underlying earnings shape.

Expectations

No quantitative FY27 target was provided

Using HY26 as the shape anchor, the first half delivered 48.4% of full-year revenue but only 35.2% of full-year NPAT, so the second half carried a disproportionate share of profit. Implied second-half NPAT was about $13.2m on $281.5m of revenue — a meaningfully stronger margin shape than the first half.

That implied second-half profit run-rate is the central forward question. Either it reflects an exit margin that should sustain into FY27, or it reflects one-off second-half contributions that should not be annualised. The release does not disaggregate the drivers, so the next-year read depends on Medical services momentum continuing and Pharmacy services result growth not slipping further.

Quality of result

The PBT-to-NPAT growth gap is small and not tax-driven: the effective tax rate moved only modestly to 27.7% from 28.1%, so PBT growth of 24.3% and NPAT growth of 27.5% are largely a clean operating outcome

The harder quality question is cash. Operating cash flow conversion fell well behind earnings, and free cash flow before leases declined despite NPAT rising sharply, because the capex line stepped up materially. This means the reported earnings improvement is not yet visible in higher cash generation, and the durability of FY26 depends on whether the new capex base begins to drop through to revenue or margin.

Payout ratio versus pre-lease FCF is suppressed because the source-backed cash-dividend bridge is unavailable.

Unresolved

Open questions

What specifically drove the roughly 33% lift in the Medical services segment result, and how much of it is repeatable in FY27?
Why did operating cash flow grow only 3.7% when PBT grew 24.3%, and what working-capital, timing, or lease-related items are associated with the gap?
What does the 65.5% step-up in capex relate to, and when does management expect it to contribute to revenue or margin?
Why did Pharmacy services result grow only modestly despite a 2.7% revenue lift, and is this the new base rate for the dominant segment?
Is the implied second-half profit shape a sustainable run-rate or partly the product of one-off items not separately disclosed?

This briefing cannot assess the underlying drivers of the Medical services segment uplift or the specific composition of the FY26 capex step-up.

Ask about GXH FY26

Informational only. No buy, sell, hold, price-target, or personal financial advice.

Sign in to chat

Sign in to ask questions about Green Cross Health's FY26 result.

What specifically drove the roughly 33% lift in the Medical services segment result, and how much of it is repeatable in FY27?Why does "Medical services did almost all of the heavy lifting" matter?How strong was the cash and earnings quality in FY26?What should I watch next for GXH after FY26?

Checking account...

Data appendix

Show segment detail

Open to load segment breakdown.

Show analytical metrics

Open to load analytical metrics.

Show key metrics table

Open to load key metrics.

Sources

Current period

GXH FY26 - Annual Results Presentation

FY26 / results presentation

GXH FY26 - Financial Statements

FY26 / financial report

GXH FY26 - Media Release

FY26 / media release

GXH FY26 - Results Announcement

FY26 / results announcement

Prior comparable period

GXH Annual Report 2025

FY25 / financial report

Interim context

GXH FY26H1 - Financial Statements

HY26 / financial report

GXH FY26H1 - Media Release

HY26 / results announcement

GXH FY26H1 - Media Release

HY26 / media release

Release context

GXH Annual Shareholders' Meeting Presentation 31 July 2025

HY26 / commentary

Get notified when GXH publishes next

Get the next Green Cross Health briefing and related NZX reporting-season updates by email.