Market cap
$790.4m
End-of-day close multiplied by current shares on issue.
Result releasedAnnolyse analysis published
Gross margin expansion to 61.7% drove record profitability, but no forward target exists to test whether the gain is durable.
Revenue context before the current result.
Operating profit margin across covered periods.
Operating cash flow across covered periods.
Operating working-capital absorption or release by reporting period.
Market context
These ratios pair a market close from around the result date with verified filing data. An unavailable metric means the required inputs were missing or unsuitable for comparison.
The latest close and share count context for the market price.
Market cap
$790.4m
End-of-day close multiplied by current shares on issue.
How the market price compares with recent earnings and cash-flow inputs.
P/E
13.35x
Recent market cap compared with trailing earnings.
EPS
0.99
Recent filing-derived earnings per share.
PEG
0.27x
P/E compared with recent earnings growth.
EV/EBITDA
Not available
Not available for this company right now.
P/FCF
8.51x
Market cap compared with recent free cash flow.
P/B
5.58x
Market value compared with latest reported equity.
Yield and investment-company valuation where supported.
Dividend yield
4.5%
Trailing dividends compared with the latest close.
Total return
Not available
Available once dividend and adjustment data are verified.
Key metrics
FY26 vs FY25
Revenue
$563m
Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.
Net profit after tax
$59.2m
Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.
Net cash inflow from operating activities
$122.2m
Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.
Full-year dividend per share
69.0c
Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.
Operating profit
$87.4m
Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.
Profit before tax
$83.9m
Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.
Cash and cash equivalents
$78.2m
+34.1% ↑ vs $58.3m
Total assets
$312.7m
Caveat: metric quality flags apply; use this value with basis context.
Analysis ofHLG FY26Result releasedAnnolyse analysis published
What changed
Revenue grew 19.6% to $563.0m (upper edge of the historical range; mean 10.6%), PBT rose 43.7% to $83.9m (above normal range; mean 11.8%) and NPAT rose 49.9% to $59.2m (unprecedented high; mean 8.8%). The lift was margin-led: gross margin expanded 240 basis points to 61.7% from 59.3% on stronger full-price sell-through. Segment mix shifted further toward Glassons Australia, now 57.6% of revenue (up from 53.4%), with New Zealand and Hallensteins shares each contracting.
What matters
Cash generation remained strong but working capital absorbed $12.9m of cash in the period even as inventory days fell to 19.7 (below the 23.0-34.8 historical range), which matters because the cash drag sits alongside record profitability rather than confirming it. Capex rose 86.1% to $29.4m, lifting capex intensity to 5.2% of revenue from 3.4%, and total assets rose 35.2% to $312.7m (an unprecedented high); together these point to a materially heavier investment and balance-sheet footprint funding growth, without disclosed net debt or gross borrowings to assess how that investment is financed.
Expectations
The reported half-year split shows NPAT weighted toward the second half (47.3% in the first half, implying $31.2m in the second half), consistent with the business's seasonal shape, but this is a statutory split rather than an underlying operating signal given no separate underlying earnings measure is disclosed.
Quality of result
Operating cash conversion eased to 139.8% of EBITDA from 145.2% previously; both readings remain comfortably above 100%, so this is a modest deterioration rather than a cash-quality problem in isolation.
Less clear is the working-capital picture: the $12.9m of cash absorbed by working-capital movements sits against falling inventory days and rising trade payables, a combination that needs explanation rather than assumption. The capex step-up to $29.4m and the 35.2% rise in total assets also suggest the profit gain is now being paired with a heavier investment and balance-sheet base whose funding basis is not disclosed here.
Unresolved
This briefing cannot assess leverage direction, net debt, or financing capacity because gross borrowings and net debt figures are not disclosed in the available materials.
Chat
Ask follow-up questions about Hallenstein Glasson's FY26 result.
Informational only. No buy, sell, hold, price-target, or personal financial advice.
Informational only. No buy, sell, hold, price-target, or personal financial advice.
Open to load segment breakdown.
Open to load analytical metrics.
Open to load key metrics.
Audited Financial Statements and Independent Auditors Report for the year ended 1 August 2026
FY26 / financial reportMedia Announcement 1 August 2026
FY26 / results releaseResults Announcement 1 August 2026
FY26 / results announcementHLG Annual Report for the year ended 1 August 2025
FY25 / financial reportChairman's Report for period ended 1 February 2026
HY26 / results presentationFinancial Results for 6 months ended 1 February 2026
HY26 / financial reportResults Announcement 1 February 2026
HY26 / results announcementHGH LTD Trading Update and Profit Forecast 27.2.26
HY26 / commentaryRelated insights
Compare this result's metrics with other covered NZX companies.
Cash conversion quality
This result converted 139.8% of EBITDA to operating cash flow, -5.4pp versus the prior comparable period.
Revenue growth context
Revenue growth was 19.6% for this reporting period.
Earnings quality and statutory distortions
PBT and NPAT growth diverged by 6.2pp.
Dividend coverage and payout pressure
Dividend payout versus NPAT is 69.6%.
Get the next Hallenstein Glasson briefing and related NZX reporting-season updates by email.